View Full League Schedule
KLTF Game of the Week| YouAreThereSports.com
Upcoming Games 
No Games Found...
Recently Completed Games
No Games Found...
Status: Completed
  R H E
Cologne Hollanders  2 6 1
Nisswa Lightning  0 1 0
Innings: 9
WP: Christian Johnson 9IP 0r 1h 8k 1bb 1hp (121 pitches)
LP: Nate DeChaine 6 1/3IP 2r 3h 7k 3bb (97 pitches)
Jason Roepke 2 2/3IP 0r 3h 2k 1bb

Tanner Luebke 1-4
Casey Clemenson 0-2 bb, sac
Carter Clemenson 0-3 bb
Cole Pengilly 0-4
Kyle Brazil 0-4
-Christian Johnson
Anthony Brenner 1-3 bb
-Kyle Twait 0-0 run
Tim Swanson 2-4 2B, run
-Austin Psyck 0-0
Joey Lilya 1-3 sac, rbi
Zach Nelson 1-3 sb, bb

Drew Boland 0-4
Jeremiah Piepkorn 0-4
Jason Roepke 0-3 hp
-Chris Pederson 0-0
Aaron Jenkins 0-3
Adam Hardy 0-3
Nate DeChaine 0-3
Sam Peterson 0-3
Morgan Shepherd 0-3
Tory Miller 1-2 bb

The Cologne Hollanders, after a 47 year absence from the State Tournament, have now won two straight games to advance to the Sweet 16 after they eliminated the Region 8C Champion Nisswa Lightning 2-0 on Saturday in Maple Lake.   After beating the Hadley Buttermakers 5-2 in the first round, the #3 seed out of Region 7 brought their ace, Christian Johnson, to the mound at Irish Stadium to face the Lightning.  Johnson had beaten Hadley the prior week while working on short rest after pitching and then travelling back to Minnesota from his Northwoods team in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Nisswa countered with Nate DeChaine, a right-hander that spent the bulk of the season coaching a wood bat club down in Albert Lea.  

This game was dominated by pitching as Johnson and DeChaine tossed matching no-hitters through the first 5 innings.  Cologne managed a 2-out walk off DeChaine in the top of the 2nd for their first base-runner of the game, but he was stranded on a DeChaine strikeout.  Nisswa got a 2-out walk from Tory Miller in the bottom of the 3rd for their first base-runner of the day but a ground ball to 2nd by Drew Boland ended that inning.  

Cologne had the first real scoring opportunity in the top of the 4th when Carter Clemenson walked with 1 out, then was wild-pitched to 2nd.  He tagged up and advanced to 3rd on a deep fly out to center fielder Drew Boland for the second out of the inning.  DeChaine stranded that man at 3rd with an inning-ending ground out to 2nd baseman Jeremiah Piepkorn.

In the top of the 6th, Cologne's Zach Nelson lofted a lead-off single down the right field line for the games first hit for either team.  The next batter, Tanner Luebke, was unable to get a sacrifice bunt down and eventually popped up to 1st for an out.  DeChaine then issued a 4-pitch walk to Casey Clemenson to put men at 1st and 2nd and 1 out.  A passed ball then moved both runners up and it was 2nd and 3rd with 1 out.  DeChaine came through with a strikeout and then a fly out to center fielder Drew Boland to leave both men on base and keep the game scoreless after 5 1/2 innings.

In the bottom of the 6th, Morgan Shepherd led off and ended up fouling out to 3rd.  Tory Miller then lashed an infield single of the glove of a diving Cologne 2nd baseman Carter Clemenson.  He tried to make an off-balance throw from his knees in an attempt to get Miller at 1st, but the throw went into the Nisswa dugout for an infield hit and a throwing error, with Miller advancing to 2nd.  Johnson worked out of trouble however with fly outs to center and left to leave Miller stranded at 2nd and keep it 0-0 after 6 innings.

In the top of the 7th, DeChaine got the first hitter, DH Kyle Brazil, to fly out to left fielder Adam Hardy.  Anthony Brenner then sent a sharp single into right field off DeChaine.  The Hollanders brought in a pinch-runner, Kyle Twait, to run for Brenner.  Tim Swanson followed up the single with his own double into the right field corner, sending Twait to 3rd with 1 out.  That hit prompted a pitching change for Nisswa, with Jason Roepke replacing DeChaine on the mound.  #8 hitter Joey Lilya then laid down a perfect squeeze bunt, driving in Twait to make it 1-0, with Swanson moving to 3rd base on the out at 1st.  Swanson would then score the second run of the inning during the next at-bat on a passed ball and the Hollanders had a 2-0 lead at the 7th inning stretch.  

In the bottom of the 7th, Christian Johnson allowed just his 3rd base-runner of the game when he hit Jason Roepke with a pitch to begin the inning.  But Roepke was unable to advance off 1st as Aaron Jenkins flew out to shallow center, Adam Hardy went down on strikes and Nate DeChaine bounced out to 2nd to end the inning.

In the top of the 8th, Tanner Luebke led off with a single off Roepke, was sacrificed to 2nd on a bunt by Casey Clemenson.  Roepke was then called for a balk, sending Luebke to 3rd with 1 out.  Roepke responded with a strikeout for the second out of the inning, but then Cole Pengilly sent a fly ball to deep right field, where Tory Miller made an inning-ending catch up against the fence to keep it a 2-0 game.

In the bottom of the 8th, Johnson retired the Lighting on just 7 pitches as Sam Peterson fouled out to the pitcher, Morgan Shepherd grounded out to shortstop and Tory Miller hit back to the mound.

In the top of the 9th, after getting a pair of fly ball out to the outfield, Cologne got back-to-back 2-out singles from Tim Swanson and Joey Lilya before Roepke fanned Zach Nelson to end the inning.  Down to their final 3 outs, Nisswa had the top of their lineup due to face Johnson in the bottom of the 9th.  Drew Boland began things with a line drive out to right field.  Johnson then got Jeremiah Piepkorn to ground out to 3rd for the second out.  With Jason Roepke at the plate, Johnson finished off his great performance by striking out the Lightning slugger to end the game with a 2-0 Cologne win and and a season-ending loss for Nisswa.

Cologne Hollanders Nisswa Lightning
Aaron Jenkins
Adam Hardy
Bodie Piepkorn
Brett Jenkins
Christopher Pederson
Drew Boland
Eric Bolt
Evan Bungum
Jason Roepke
Jeremiah Piepkorn
Kevin Smith
Kolton Michalski
Kyle Schaible
Logan McElfresh
Morgan Shephard
Nate DeChaine
Nick Cundy
Paul Jenkins
Sam Jenson
Sam Miller
Sam Peterson
Scott Sand
Tory Miller
Ty Swenson
Tyler Wittwer